Follow Scitkk on WordPress.com

Posts

Just can’t plan for illness

So, I thought I had been organised enough to sort out all of the experiments I need to carry out for a grant application. The experiments will be done by Easter and then after a break I will write the application. Already I was regretting planning experiments that require me to go into work over the weekend, every weekend for three weeks – what is the point of working part-time if I then also spend about four hours every weekend working? The whole point of working part-time was to spend time with my daughter and not miss her growing up. (I’m digressing.)
Just when I was feeling smug over my plans and self-congratulating myself for being so organised, I come across news that throws a spanner in the works. I decided to check my emails on my day off: Chicken pox has infected a child in the same nursery room as mine!
My daughter has had a fever for about a week now. Does she have a bug or is she teething? Who knows. I checked her over for spots, especially her scalp and behind her ears – nothing. But the incubation period for chicken pox is up to two weeks so she might still develop a rash, or not, as the case may be. We’ll just have to wait and see. If she does get chicken pox her dad and I will just have to juggle looking after a poorly toddler and carrying out essential work duties between us.
I was going to order her chicken pox vaccine (see my blog here and here) later this week but now it might not be needed…

 

Creative Commons Licence
Scitkk by Tarnjit Khera is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.
Based on a work at Scitkk.wordpress.com.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at Scitkk.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

